National Standard Bearers Competition 2018

National Standard Bearers Competition 2018

The National Standard Bearers and new Novice Standard Bearers competition along with the Association of WRNS competition was held  place HMS Collingwood on Saturday 12 May 2018 the competition commenced at 1000 and on completion was followed by a presentation ceremony.

This year’s competition featured 13 Standard Bearers who had travelled from far and wide to take part.

The competition started with the inspection of the Novices, all three of them.
S/M’s Alan Oliver (Area 2), Richard Shenton (Area 3) and Mick Gosling (Area 5). They were inspected by the Judges who were:

• S/M Mick Kieran – National Ceremonial Advisor
• S/M Ann Foley – Area 1
• S/M Steve Susans – Area 2

The National President, Vice Admiral John Mcanally presented the prizes as follows

Novice Competition
Winner - Shipmate Alan Oliver
2nd - Shipmate Richard Shelton
3rd - Shipmate Mick Gosling

Association of Wrens
Winner and Association of WRNS National Standard Bearer
Chris Walker
2nd - Marie Taylor (Association of WRNS Deputy National Standard Bearer)
3rd - Val Gleave

Senior Competition
Winner and RNA National Standard Bearer Shipmate  Bob Coburn
Runner Up Shipmate David Corrigan (Deputy National Standard Bearer)
3rd Shipmate Steve Champion
4th Shipmate Colin Rickard
5th Shipmate Stewart Maclean
6th Shipmate Marie Taylor
7th Shipmate Dennis Matthews
8th Shipmate Alf Snowden

Photographs by Shipmate Nigel Huxtable